2018 Annual Bunts-Hackler Conference | State of the Art Urology


James A. Eastham, MD, FACS, Bunts-Hackler speaker 2018 James A. Eastham, MD, FACS

Chief, Urology Service; Peter T. Scardino Chair in Oncology
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

A surgeon who specializes in nerve-sparing radical prostatectomy for the treatment of prostate cancer and salvage radical prostatectomy in patients with prostate cancer in whom radiation therapy has failed. Dr. Eastham completed his fellowship in urologic oncology in 1995 and has been in practice since then, devoting the past 15 years exclusively to the care of men with prostate cancer.

Kenneth Jacobsohn, MD, Bunts-Hackler speaker 2018 Kenneth Jacobsohn, MD

Associate Professor of Surgery
Medical College of Wisconsin

Dr. Jacobsohn is fellowship trained in minimally-invasive urologic oncology and board certified in urology. He is an expert in robotic-assisted laparoscopic surgery for prostate cancer, kidney cancer, and bladder cancer. Additionally, he specializes in robotic and laparoscopic surgery for benign urologic diseases. His goal is to help each patient find the right treatment for their condition, and to apply the latest advances in technology when it is appropriate.

Jihad Kaouk, MD, Bunts-Hackler speaker 2018 Jihad Kaouk, MD

Professor of Surgery
Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University

Dr. Jihad Kaouk is an American Board certified Urologist who helps patients within Cleveland Clinic's Glickman Urological & Kidney Institute as the Director of the Center of Advanced Laparoscopic and Robotic Surgery. Complementing his role as Director, Jihad Kaouk, MD, holds the position of Institute Vice Chair for Surgical Innovations and the chair holder for the Zegarac-Pollock Endowed Chair in laparoscopic and robotic surgery in the Glickman Urological & Kidney Institute. 

Christopher G. Wood, MD, FACS Christopher G. Wood, MD, FACS

Professor of Surgery
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Dr. Christopher G. Wood is Professor and Vice Chairman in the Department of Urology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dr. Christopher Wood is a member of the Board of Directors, Medical Advisory Board, and Steering Committee of the Kidney Cancer Association. His major clinical focus is in the treatment of localized, locally advanced, and metastatic renal cell carcinoma. He has active clinical research protocols that focus on the development of minimally invasive techniques for patients with clinically localized disease, the development of effective adjuvant therapy for patients with locally advanced disease at high risk for relapse, and the integration of surgery with systemic therapy in the metastatic setting.

top of page

Previous Keynote Speakers:
Listed chronologically, earliest to most recent:

John Hutch, M.D. (San Francisco, CA)
Willet Whitmore, Jr., M.D. (New York, NY)
Thomas Stamey, M.D. (Stanford, CA)
Hardy Hendren, M.D. (Boston, MA)
James Glen, M.D. (Durham, NC)
F. Brantley Scott, M.D. (Houston, TX)
William Fair, M.D. (St. Louis, MI)
George Prout, M.D. (Boston, MA)
John Duckett, M.D. (Philadelphia, PA)
John Donohue, M.D. (Indianapolis, IN)
Alan Wein, M.D. (Philadelphia, PA)
Donald Griffith, M.D. (Houston, TX)
E. Darracott Vaughan, Jr., M.D. (New York, NY)
Terry Allen, M.D. (Dallas, TX)
Louis Denis, M.D. (Belgium)
David McCullough, M.D. (Winston-Salem, NC)
Stuart Howards, M.D. (Charlottesville, VA)
John Woodard, M.D. (Atlanta, Georgia)
Richard Middleston, M.D. (Salt Lake City, UT)
Scott McDougal, M.D. (Boston, MA)
David Barrett, M.D. (Rochester, MI)
Mark Soloway, M.D. (Miami, FL)
Ronald Lewis, M.D. (Rochester, MN)
Arnold Belker, M.D. (Louisville, KT)
Louis Kavoussi, M.D. (Baltimore, MD)
Sender Herschom, M.D. (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
Paul Schellhammer, M.D. (Norfolk, VA)
Andrew C. Novick, M.D. (Cleveland, OH)
Howard Snyder, III, M.D. (Philadelphia, PA)
William D. Steers, M.D., F.A.C.S. (Charlottesville, VA)
Kenneth W. Angermeier,  M.D. (Cleveland, OH)
Keith Van Arsdalen, M.D. (Philadelphia, PA)
Leonard Gomella, M.D., F.A.C.S. (Philadelphia, PA)
Jihad Kaouk, M.D. (Cleveland, OH)
John Delancey, M.D. (Ann Arbor, MI)
Gary Lemack, M.D. (Dallas, TX)
Lawrence E. Einhorn, M.D. (Indianapolis, IN)
Joel Sheinfeld, M.D. (New York, NY)

Peter R. Carroll, M.D. (San Francisco, CA)
Judd W. Moul, M.D. (Durham, NC)
Thomas F. Kolon, M.D. (Philadelphia, PA)
Lane S. Palmer, Jr., M.D. (NY, NY)
H.G. Rushton, Jr., M.D. (Washington, DC)
Kurt A. McCammon, M.D. (Charlottesville, VA)
Peter A. Pinto, M.D. (Bethesda, MD)
Craig G. Rogers, M.D. (Detroit, MI)
Jinxing Yu, M.D. (Richmond, VA)
Sammy Elsamra, M.D. (New Brunswick, New Jersey)
W. Marston Linehan, M.D. (Bethesda, MD)
Dan Theodorescu, M.D., PhD (Bolder, CO)
Willie Underwood, III, M.D., MPH, MSci (Buffalo, NY)

top of page

Bunts-Hackler Conference 2018
Division of Urology | Department of Surgery | VCU School of Medicine
Virginia Commonwealth University | VCU Health
last updated: January 11, 2018